Nominations for 12th Equine Industry Vision Award Sought

Pfizer Animal Health enters its 12th year as sponsor of the prestigious Equine Industry Vision Award in partnership with American Horse Publications (AHP). Nominations are now open for the award, the first of its kind to showcase innovation across the entire equine market, as well as ingenuity and service.

Since its inception in 2002, there have been many worthy nominees for the Equine Industry Vision Award. Anyone is eligible to be nominated or re-nominated, or to nominate a candidate for the award. Nominees can include individuals and/or organizations, and candidates will be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry.

The 2013 Equine Industry Vision Award will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health on June 21, 2013, during the AHP Meet at the Peak Seminar in Colorado Springs, Colo. The names of award recipients are engraved on the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created in the finest full lead crystal by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Pfizer Animal Health. The winners receive a smaller version of the award as a memento of this unique recognition.

"Pfizer Animal Health is proud to carry on this tradition for the twelfth consecutive year," said Kate Russo, marketing manager of cattle and equine parasiticides at Pfizer Animal Health. "We are honored to recognize the new and past winners who positively impact the equine industry.

Past award winners have contributed to the growth and preservation of the equine industry. If you know an individual or organization that deserves to be recognized for vision and contribution for the 2013 award, nominations are due on or before Feb. 6, 2013.

Past recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are:

  • 2012--Equine Land Conservation Resource, for the organization's dedication to help preserve land for the future of equestrian sports, recreation and industry.
  • 2011--Robert Cacchione, executive director and co-founder of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association, for his exemplary vision to start an organization that would allow any college student to participate in horse shows, regardless of financial status or riding level.
  • 2010--John Nicholson, for his work as the executive director of the Kentucky Horse Park and as president of the World Equestrian Games 2010 Foundation. Nicholson's leadership was pivotal in bringing the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games to the United States.
  • 2009--Charlotte Brailey Kneeland, the founder and director of the American Riding Instructors Association, for her vision to promote and certify riding instructors across the United States.
  • 2008--Sally Swift (1913-2009), the founder of "Centered Riding," for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the 20th century.
  • 2007--David O'Connor, best known for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation.
  • 2006--Stanley F. Bergstein (1924-2011), executive vice president of Harness Tracks of America, for his positive contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments.
  • 2005--John Ryan Gaines, for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.
  • 2004--American Quarter Horse Association, for the organization's vast positive impact on the equine experience worldwide.
  • 2003--Don Burt (1930-2012), for more than 50 years of living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts across disciplines.
  • 2002--Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998), for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry.

To request a nomination ballot for the 2013 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Judy Lincoln, EIVA Coordinator, American Horse Publications, at 386/760-7743 or email Nomination information is also available at the AHP website

All materials will be due on or before Feb. 6, 2013.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More