New AAEP Board of Director Members for 2013 Sworn In

New members of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) board of directors were sworn in during the Dec. 4 President's Luncheon at the 58th Annual Convention, taking place in Anaheim, Calif.

The AAEP inducted Colorado State University (CSU) professor David Frisbie, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVS, whose leadership has helped shape the association's educational programs, as director-at-large. Frisbie's term will expire in 2015.

Frisbie researches innovative therapies for treating joint disease and serves as associate professor of equine surgery at CSU College of Veterinary Medicine. In addition, he is a practicing partner with Equine Sports Medicine and a senior scientist at the Orthopedic Research Center.

Since joining the AAEP in 2001, Frisbie has provided guidance to the Educational Programs Committee (EPC) as a member for two terms and the chair for one term. In addition, he's served on the AAEP's Abstract Review and Convention Planning committees, as well as the Medication Regulation and Western Performance Horse Task Forces. Frisbie received the 2001 Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence and the 2011 AAEP President's Award for outstanding service on the EPC.

Wendy Vaala, VMD, Dipl. ACVIM, a Wisconsin veterinarian employed in equine pharmaceutical research and development, was also sworn in during the luncheon. Vaala, who will represent District V on the board, will serve until 2015.

Vaala has served as senior equine technical veterinarian with Merck Animal Health (formerly Intervet) since 2004, after eight years in private practice in New Jersey where she developed an internal medicine referral service and neonatal intensive care unit at two equine practices.

Since joining the AAEP in 1993, Dr. Vaala has served as a member of the Infectious Disease, Pediatric, Biologic and Therapeutic Agents and Educational Programs committees, as well as the Infectious Disease Forum. She also provides continuing education on a diverse array of equine-related medical topics, and her professional interests include internal medicine, neonatology, perinatology and ophthalmology.

Monty McInturff, DVM, co-owner of Tennessee Equine Hospital in Thompson's Station, Tenn., was also inducted and will represent District IV on the board. His term will expire in 2015.

McInturff has worked in private practice for more than 20 years, with a focus on the sport horse as well as the management of a nine-veterinarian, full-service equine hospital. He is also co-founder of the Middle Tennessee Academy of Equine Practitioners where he served as president from 1996-2000.

An AAEP member since 1987, McInturff served on the association's Equine Welfare Committee and Tennessee Walking Horse Task Force, participated in the AAEP Leadership Development Workshop in 2006 and is currently working to strengthen the Ambassador program as a member of the AAEP Foundation Committee. In addition, he has served as presenter, moderator, and facilitator of multiple round table and panel discussions on both lameness and equine business during AAEP Annual Conventions.

Finally, the AAEP inducted Kenton Morgan, DVM, Dipl. ACT, a Missouri practitioner and equine veterinary specialist with Pfizer Animal Health, to represent District VI on its board of directors. His term will expire in 2015.

Since joining the AAEP in 1984, Morgan has chaired the Reproduction and the Biologics and Therapeutic Agents committees and served on the Drug Compounding Task Force. He currently serves on the Leadership Development Committee and the College of Veterinary Medicine Faculty Membership Task Force. Additionally, he has provided expertise on the topics of practice management, drug compounding and the prudent use of medication as a presenter at AAEP continuing education meetings.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More