2012 Olympics: 23 Nations Qualify for Paralympic Games

Para-Dressage riders from 23 nations have qualified to take part in the London 2012 Paralympic Games. The qualification process, which began in October 2010, finished yesterday, Jan. 31.

As the top three ranked teams at the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2010, Great Britain, Germany, and Denmark will each be represented by a team of four plus one individual rider. Canada, the top ranked nation on the Para-Equestrian Team ranking list for countries not otherwise qualified, will also receive five qualification slots.

Eleven nations, which qualified through the Para-Equestrian Team ranking list and regional distribution of teams, will be entering teams of four riders. The 11 nations are Australia, Belgium, Brazil, France, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, the Netherlands, Singapore, South Africa, and the United States.

New Zealand, Norway, and Finland will be represented by two individual riders apiece. Bermuda, Argentina, Japan, Hong Kong and Austria have each been allocated one individual slot.

The three remaining qualification slots will be allocated by Bipartite Commission Invitation issued by the International Paralympic Committee and the FEI. These final qualifications will be announced on April 9.

The nominated entries will be published on June 18 and definite entries on Aug. 6.

A total of 78 Para-Equestrian riders will be battling it out for the 11 sets of medals available in Greenwich Park over six days from Aug. 30 – Sept. 4.

The detailed qualification list is available here. Additional information on the equestrian events at the London 2012 Paralympic Games can be found on the FEI website.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More