Eight to be Inducted into Racing Hall of Fame

Five persons and three horses will be inducted into the National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. Aug. 6. The class is the largest since nine were inducted in 1978.

Jockeys Jose Santos and John Sellers; trainers Henry Forrest, Frank McCabe, and John Veitch; and the horses Mom's Command, Silver Charm, and Swoon's Son are this year's inductees. Santos, Veitch, Mom's Command, and Silver Charm were elected in the contemporary categories, while Sellers, Forrest, McCabe, and Swoon's Son were elected by the Historic Review Committee, which considers candidates who have not been active in 25 years.

Forrest, who saddled two Kentucky Derby winners, and McCabe, whose resume includes developing three Hall of Fame horses, tied in the voting for trainer.

The 16-member nominating committee considered more than 100 candidates for the contemporary categories before selecting 13 finalists. To qualify for the ballot, candidates were required to receive at least a majority of votes from the committee.

The winners received the most votes from the 186 voters in the United States and Canada. A total of 177 ballots--95%--were returned.

The Historic Review Committee has 12 members who reviewed and discussed the credentials of the nominees during a conference call and later voted to select a finalist in each category. The finalist was required to receive approval from at least 75% of the committee members to be elected. McCabe and Forrest finished in a dead heat, so both were elected to the Hall of Fame.

(Originally published at www.bloodhorse.com.)  

About the Author

Claire Novak

Winner of the 2011 Eclipse Award for Feature/Commentary and the 2008 Louisville Metro Journalism Award for Sports Writing, Claire Novak has melded her love for human-interest journalism and the equine breed into a successful Turf writing career. Since her first freelance article on racing was published at BloodHorse.com in 2005, her byline has appeared in the New York Times, ESPN The Magazine, and on ESPN.com, among others. She lives near Lexington and, when not writing about racing, can often be found jumping her Thoroughbred, Bob.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More