AAEP Foundation, Markel Award Scholarships to Vet Students

Eight exceptional veterinary students committed to careers in equine medicine received $2,500 scholarships from the American Association of Equine Practitioners Foundation and Markel during the AAEP’s 59th Annual Convention's Student Luncheon, which took place Dec. 8 in Nashville, Tenn.

Now in its 25th year, the annual scholarship program awards financial support to fourth-year veterinary students who are proven leaders at their veterinary schools, advocates for equine welfare, and academic achievers. Since inception of the program in 1989, 178 veterinary students have received more than $380,000 in scholarship support.

Congratulations to the following 2013 recipients:

  • Rosemary Bayless, Kansas State University
  • Rebecca Gilday, Western CVM, University of Saskatchewan
  • Christine Jones, The Ohio State University
  • Kathryn Livesey, University of Wisconsin
  • Elise Madara, Louisiana State University
  • Kelly McGowan, University of Florida
  • Joseph Pluhar, Texas A&M University
  • Kami Vickerman, University of Minnesota

“Markel’s longstanding support of these scholarship opportunities underscores the company’s leadership and commitment to the equine industry, the veterinary profession and students,” said AAEP Foundation Chairman Wayne McIlwraith, BVSc, PhD, DSc, FRCVS, Dipl. ACVS, ACVSMR. “These scholarships will help each of this year’s recipients fulfill their goals within the equine veterinary profession.”

Julian Bowen-Rees, managing director of Markel Specialty, Equine & Livestock, noted that honoring excellence among the newest colleagues in veterinary medicine is something that Markel is proud to support: “We are delighted to honor these exceptional senior veterinary students who have taken a special interest in equine medicine and surgery. We understand and appreciate the roll of veterinarians, especially in relation to our business, and we are pleased to continue the legacy established by American Live Stock.”

Added Lance Allen, DVM, veterinarian and director of Agri-Risk Services at Markel’s Midwest office in Kansas City, Mo., “As a member of the AAEP for over 30 years, I am especially pleased and honored to represent Markel in supporting the newest equine veterinarians.”

Veterinary students are nominated for the scholarship by representatives from their colleges with supporting references from AAEP members and clinical instructors. In addition to academic excellence, nominees are evaluated by their leadership abilities and involvement with activities benefiting the health and welfare of horses. Each accredited college or school of veterinary medicine may nominate one fourth-year veterinary student who intends to enter private practice and develops its own criteria for nomination.

Additional information about this program and other scholarships offered through the AAEP Foundation is available through the scholarship section of the AAEP Foundation’s website at www.aaepfoundation.org.

Markel has more than 40 years of expertise in insuring horses and horse businesses. Headquartered in Glen Allen, Va., Markel also has dedicated equine offices located in Warrenton, Va.; Lexington, Ky.; Kansas City, Mo.; and Geneva, Ill.

The AAEP Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization created in 1994, serves as the charitable arm of the American Association of Equine Practitioners to improve the welfare of the horse. Since its inception, the foundation has allocated more than $2.8 million to support its mission.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More