Students Committed to Equine Medicine Receive Scholarships

Thirty-three veterinary students preparing for a career in equine medicine have received a combined $102,000 in financial support through the 2017 Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program, co-sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ (AAEP) Foundation, Platinum Performance, and The Race For Education.

The Winner’s Circle scholarships, managed by The Race For Education, are intended to help ease the financial burden of a veterinary education by offering third- and fourth-year students at each of the AAEP’s 39 full or full-affiliate student chapters an opportunity to earn scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, depending on the needs of the individual student. Students are selected for scholarships based on their leadership roles and dedication to a future in equine healthcare.

Since its establishment in 2008, the Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program has provided nearly $1.5 million in scholarships to 315 veterinary students.

“The rising cost of veterinary school continues to present challenges to talented students who endeavor to enter the equine veterinary profession,” said Richard Mitchell, DVM, MRCVS, Dipl. ACVSMR, chairman of the AAEP Foundation Advisory Council. “We are grateful to all of our donors and especially thank our partners The Race For Education and Platinum Performance for all their long-time support.”

In 2017, 18 students received $1,500 scholarships and 15 others received $5,000 scholarships, which includes $4,000 in scholarship funds from The Race For Education’s Assets for Independence Program—a federal grant program in partnership with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Administration For Children and Families. Only U.S. students attending veterinary school in the U.S. were eligible for awards through the federal matching grant. An additional 19 applicants not selected for Winner’s Circle scholarships are also eligible to received $4,000 awards through the Race For Education’s Assets For Independence Program.

Scholarship recipients in 2017 include:

  • Sarah Appleby, University of Wisconsin
  • Renee Baumann, Oregon State University
  • Ana Caruso, Texas A&M University
  • Amanda Craven, University of Wisconsin
  • Chloe Evetts, University of Florida
  • Esther Farber, North Carolina State University
  • Christina Frost, Washington State University
  • Devin Gardner, University of Missouri
  • Melanie Harness, University of Guelph
  • Olivia Hegedus, Ohio State University
  • Zachary Hulbert, Auburn University
  • Katherine Larson, Mississippi State University
  • Michala Lindley, Washington State University
  • Caitlin Malik, Louisiana State University
  • Amy McBirney, University of California, Davis
  • Mariah Melin, University of Minnesota
  • Logan Metzen, Iowa State University
  • Allison Mustonen, Purdue University
  • Haley O'Connell, Ross University
  • Kirstie Oswald, University of Saskatchewan
  • Callayn Paul, Michigan State University
  • Jenetta Porter, Iowa State University
  • Jessica Quigley, Tuskegee University
  • Shelbe Rice, University of Georgia
  • Kaitlyn Rigby, Kansas State University
  • Rachel Roberson, Auburn University
  • Allison Salinger, Western University of Health Sciences
  • Madison Skelton, Midwestern University
  • Jason Smith, Virginia-Maryland College
  • Kelsey Stoner, Washington State University
  • Cally Webster, Ohio State University
  • Hanum Wensil-Strow, University of Pennsylvania
  • Emma Winstead, Tufts University
Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More