Voting Under Way for 2012 NTRA Moment of Year

Voting Under Way for 2012 NTRA Moment of Year

Paynter's recovery from colitis and laminitis is one of the "Moments of the Year" fans can vote for. Here, Paynter is seen in his paddock at Fair Hill Equine Therapy Center where he is rehabilitating.

Photo: Steve Haskin

Voting is under way at the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) website for the 14th annual "NTRA Moment of the Year," and this year's contest includes two horse health-related events.

Voters can choose from among 12 moments drawn from the year's events. The winning nomination will be recognized Jan. 19, 2013 at the Eclipse Awards ceremony at Gulfstream Park Racetrack and Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla. Those selecting the winning moment automatically will be entered in a random drawing for a $100 gift certificate for Breeders' Cup merchandise.

The moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the events that fans can choose from are:

  • Rosie Napravnik becomes the first female jockey to win the Kentucky Oaks, guiding Believe You Can to victory.
  • I'll Have Another and jockey Mario Gutierrez pull the upset from post 19 to win the Kentucky Derby.
  • I'll Have Another runs down Bodemeister to win the Preakness Stakes by a neck.
  • On the eve of a highly anticipated Triple Crown bid, I'll Have Another is scratched from the Belmont Stakes due to a tendon injury.
  • For the first time since 1874, the Travers Stakes ends in a dead heat as Alpha and Golden Ticket hit the wire together.
  • Belmont Stakes runner-up Paynter overcomes deadly battles with laminitis and colitis and begins rehab for a possible 2013 campaign.
  • For the second straight year, Royal Delta wins the Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic for trainer Bill Mott and jockey Mike Smith, who registers his record 16th Breeders' Cup riding win.
  • Groupie Doll trounces her opponents in the Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint.
  • Shanghai Bobby digs in under Rosie Napravnik to win the Grey Goose Breeders' Cup Juvenile and remain undefeated.
  • Wise Dan breaks the Santa Anita Park course record in capturing the Breeders' Cup Mile over an international field.
  • Fort Larned holds off Mucho Macho Man to take the Breeders' Cup Classic.
  • Shackleford ends his career on a winning note in the Clark Handicap.

The first-ever "NTRA Moment of the Year" was the touching scene involving Charismatic and jockey Chris Antley following the 1999 Belmont Stakes, when Antley lifted the colt's leg after suffered a condylar fracture of the cannon bone and a longitudinal break in a sesamoid bone. Last year, the hard-fought win by Drosselmeyer over Game on Dude in the 2011 Breeders' Cup Classic was the public's choice.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year allows fans to salute the people, horses and memories that make our sport so compelling," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president. "We look forward to seeing which one of the unforgettable moments from 2012 they select as this year's winner."

Fans 18 years and older can register to vote online at There is a limit of one vote per valid e-mail address. Multiple votes from the same e-mail address will be disqualified. Votes must be received by 11:59 p.m. (EST) Jan. 2, 2013.

Originally published on

About the Author

The Blood-Horse Staff

The Blood-Horse is the leading weekly publication devoted to international Thoroughbred racing and breeding. Since 1916, the staff of The Blood-Horse has served the Thoroughbred community with the highest standards of journalistic excellence to provide comprehensive and timely editorial coverage and analysis.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More