Riders Set to Compete in 2012 Paralympics in London

The International Paralympic Committee expects its largest games ever in London this year, with 165 countries scheduled to participate in 21 sports over 17 days.  The games’ para-dressage will take place August 30 – September 4 at Greenwich Park.

Riders from 26 nations have qualified to participate in equestrian events during the Paralympics. Host nation Great Britain, along with Germany, Denmark, and Canada, have qualified the maximum number of riders and will each be represented by a team of four and one individual. Nine countries—the United States, The Netherlands, Brazil, Ireland, Italy, Belgium, South Africa, Australia, and France—have qualified four riders.

The National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) of Singapore and Mexico, which had originally qualified four riders each, returned one qualification slot each and will be represented by three-rider teams. The unused slots were re-allocated to Norway and Israel on the basis of the individual para-equestrian rankings of athletes not already qualified with a team. As a result, Norway, which had already qualified two individual riders, will field a composite team consisting of three members.

New Zealand and Finland will be represented by two individual riders apiece. Bermuda, Argentina, Japan, Hong Kong and Austria have each been allocated one individual slot. Thomas Haller of Austria, Lee Frawley of the Virgin Islands, and Anita Johnsson of Sweden have received bipartite commission invitations to participate in the games.

A total of 78 para-equestrian riders will compete for the 11 sets of medals available.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More