Equine Industry Vision Award Nominations Deadline Set

The deadline date for nominations for the eighth annual Equine Industry Vision Award is on or before Feb. 2, 2009. Pfizer Animal Health sponsors the award in partnership with American Horse Publications (AHP). The award was developed to recognize outstanding leadership, creativity, and meritorious contributions in the equine industry.

The 2009 Equine Industry Vision Award will be presented on June 26, 2009 during the AHP Annual Seminar in New Orleans, La.

Since inception in 2002, there have been many worthy nominees for the Equine Industry Vision Award. Anyone is eligible to be nominated, re-nominated, or to nominate a candidate for the Equine Industry Vision Award. Nominees can include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates can be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry.

New for 2009

In prior years, the previous year's finalists were automatically re-nominated for the next year's award. In 2009, all past non-winning nominees including finalists must be re-nominated. Therefore, if you have nominated a candidate in the past who hasn't earned the honor, you might wish to update your nomination and resubmit your candidate for the award in 2009.

Past winners include:

  • In June 2008, the seventh annual Equine Industry Vision Award was presented to Sally Swift. At 95, Swift earned this honor for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the twentieth century. Best known as the founder of the Centered Riding method used by riders across all disciplines, Swift is a true visionary whose legendary work will continue to impact the equine world long beyond her years.
  • David O'Connor was selected the winner in 2007. Best known for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation, O'Connor is a true leader who is recognized and well respected throughout the equine world.
  • In 2006, Stanley F. Bergstein earned this honor for his positive contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments. Known primarily as the Executive Vice President of Harness Tracks of America (HTA), a position he has held for over four decades, Bergstein is a true leader and visionary who is recognized and respected throughout the equine world.
  • In 2005, the award was presented posthumously to John Ryan Gaines who passed away on February 11, 2005. Gaines was noted for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.
  • In 2004, the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) was selected to receive this prestigious honor because of the organization's vast, positive impact on the equine experience worldwide.
  • In 2003, Don Burt was honored as the second Equine Industry Vision Award winner. Burt has spent over 50 years living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts have been felt across disciplines.
  • In its inaugural year, the 2002 Equine Industry Vision Award was bestowed on Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry. Mr. Mackay-Smith's influence continues today not only in his books, but also in the organizations that he helped found and that are still flourishing.

To request a nomination ballot for the 2009 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Christine W. Brune, executive director of American Horse Publications at 386/760-7743 or e-mail ahorsepubs@aol.com.

Nomination information is also available at the AHP Web site at Americanhorsepubs.org. All materials will be due on or before Feb. 2, 2009

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More