BHS Awards Honor Remarkable Volunteers, Organizations

Courageous, industrious and remarkable volunteers and organizations were honored by The British Horse Society at a prestigious awards ceremony.

Individuals and groups were presented with awards by guest of honor Desi Dillingham, chairman of British dressage, and one of the BHS's new Vice-Presidents, at a ceremony at Saddlers' Hall, in the city of London.

The British Horse Society's Chairman Patrick Print said: "With ceremonies such as this we publicly honor all our volunteers who are the very bedrock of the BHS. They are the brave and the tireless, the brilliant and the unstoppable. And we recognize and honor the best work of professionals, companies, and public servants who do so much to advance the interests of equestrianism. The award winners are the perfect examples of this type."

Jeni Gilbert received the BHS's leading award for volunteers, the Award of Merit.

The Chairman's Commendation went to the Organizing Committee of the European TREC Championships 2006. The citation praised the group's "care and professionalism" in the planning and running of the hugely successful championships.

The Bodynfoel Award, for the person who has done the most to promote The British Horse Society, was won by Virginia Scott-Watson, the organizer of the successful Borders Festival for the Horse, in Scotland, during its first four years.

The BHS Silver Stirrup was won by Mary Walker, who has for more than a dozen years at the BHS-approved Lords House Farm, Blackburn, Lancashire, given disadvantaged or disabled children and adults the chance to get close to horses and other animals.

Avril Sleeman won the title of BHS member who has done most for equestrian access. She was nominated by the Access and Rights of Way Advisory Group (AROWAG) for her "enormous capacity for perseverance and hard work" which has led to 22 new bridleways and byways being put on the Definitive Map in Surrey, London, and Kent.

Harry Paviour picked up a welfare award for "outstanding contribution to the well-being of equines" by saving the lives of horses through the writing of the manual Fire Safety Guidelines for Equine Establishments and Agricultural Premises, which he gave in its entirety to the BHS.

The Tarquin Trophy, a new award, was presented to the BHS by Wendy Reynolds in memory of a horse and rider killed in a road accident. This new award for work in the field of riding and road safety was presented to Alison Edwards and Richard Holt.

Lizzel Winter, who passed the BHS Fellowship Exam in October 2005, attended this year's awards to receive her Fellowship Certificate.

The venue for the awards was kindly provided by the Worshipful Company of Saddlers.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More