Idaho County Added to Kentucky VS Embargo

The first case of vesicular stomatitis (VS) was confirmed Sept 26 in Bear Lake County, Idaho. That county, along with Alamosa County, Colo., and Platte County, Wyo., were added to the list of states from which the Kentucky Department of Agriculture has restricted animal movement.
Additionally, Mesa and Ouray counties in Colo., and Davis and San Juan counties in Utah, have been removed from the Kentucky embargoed list. All livestock from embargoed counties are prohibited from entering the state. 

Following are VS-affected counties that Kentucky has placed on its embargoed list:

Colorado: Alamosa, Archuleta, Delta, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, and Routt.

Idaho: Bear Lake.

Montana: Carbon, Rosebud, Stillwater, and Yellowstone.

New Mexico: Rio Arriba, San Juan, and Taos.

Utah: Carbon, Duchesne, Emery, Grand, Salt Lake, Uintah, and Weber.

Wyoming: Big Horn, Converse, Freemont, Goshen, Hot Springs, Park, Platte, Sublette, Sweetwater, Uinta, and Washakie.

As of Sept. 25, The United States Department of Agriculture reported more than 500 positive cases of equine vesicular stomatitis in 36 counties in eight western states. More than 370 premises remain under quarantine. Arizona is the only state to no longer have premises under quarantine. For more information on Kentucky VS embargoed areas see or

About the Author

Chad Mendell

Chad Mendell is the former Managing Editor for .

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More