Three Counties added to Kentucky VS Embargo

Cases of vesicular stomatitis (VS) were confirmed for the first time this year in Routt County, Colo., Weber County, Utah, and Park County, Wyo., prompting the Kentucky Department of Agriculture (KDA) to add these counties to the state’s embargoed areas. The embargo prohibits all livestock, including horses, originating in the affected counties from entering the state. In addition, the KDA has removed Valencia County, N.M., from the list.

Kentucky VS embargoed counties:

Colorado: Archuleta, Delta, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, and Routt.

Montana: Carbon, Rosebud, Stillwater, and Yellowstone.

New Mexico: Rio Arriba, San Juan, and Taos.

Utah: Carbon, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Grand, Salt Lake, San Juan Uintah, and Weber.

Wyoming: Big Horn, Converse, Freemont, Goshen, Hot Springs, Park, Sublette, Sweetwater, Uinta, and Washakie.

Non-embargoed areas of states with confirmed cases of VS are permitted entry into Kentucky on a conditional basis. Livestock, wild animals, and exotic animals from non-embargoed areas of VS-positive states must be tested and found negative for VS using a USDA-approved test on a blood sample collected during the 10-day period prior to the animal's arrival in Kentucky. Equine from a non-embargoed area must be tested using the C-ELISA test on a sample taken within the 10-day period prior to the animal's arrival in Kentucky, and it must have an entry permit issued by the KDA recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) issued within five days of its Kentucky entry. Finally, the CVI must contain the following statement: "Animals represented on this CVI have not originated from a premise or area under quarantine or on which vesicular stomatitis has been diagnosed in the past thirty (30) days or from an embargoed area restricted from entry into Kentucky."


About the Author

Chad Mendell

Chad Mendell is the former Managing Editor for .

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More

Free Newsletters

Sign up for the latest in:

From our partners