Equine Science Society 2005 Awards

Several awards were presented to outstanding individuals in the field of equine science at the Equine Science Society (ESS) Symposium May 31-June 3, in Tucson, Ariz.

The Outstanding Educator Award was presented to Pete G. Gibbs, MS, PhD, professor and extension horse specialist at Texas A & M University. This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in the area of equine education, either to students or persons in the horse industry. Gibbs specializes in equine nutrition, and specifically broodmare nutrition, the growing horse, and the equine athlete. He has published more than 20 scientific articles and hundreds of fact sheets, extension news articles, and conference and proceedings papers.

The Outstanding Young Professional Award was received by Paul D. Siciliano, MS, PhD, associate professor in the department of animal science at Colorado State University. This award recognizes an individual under the age of 40 with less than 10 years of service in academia or industry, who has made meritorious contributions to equine science in teaching, research, public service, or industry. In 2004, Siciliano was selected as a member of the National Research Council Committee for revision of the Nutrient Requirements of Horses. He also serves on the Equine Science Society Board of Directors, and he recently chaired the Horse Symposium Committee for the American Society of Animal Science.

The Distinguished Serve Award in Equine Science was presented to Robert Coleman, MS, PhD, PAS, associate extension professor in the department of animal science at the University of Kentucky. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of equine science, and is considered the most prestigious ESS honor bestowed upon one of its members. Coleman’s responsibilities include oversight of the Kentucky 4-H Horse Program, all adult programming activities in the horse area, instruction of two undergraduate equine classes, and undergraduate advising.

The American Feed Industry Association Award in Equine Nutrition Research was given to Joe D. Pagan, MS, PhD, president and founder of Kentucky Equine Research in Versailles, Ky. This award recognizes excellence in equine nutrition research and the contributions an individual to equine feeding management practices and the equine feed industry. Pagan is the author of more than 20 peer-reviewed manuscripts that have appeared in the Journal of Animal Science, the Journal of Nutrition, and the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine. He is also the author or co-author of more than 80 abstracts and proceedings papers. Pagan’s research has contributed to the understanding of normal equine growth patterns by facilitating the design of computer programs that allow horse breeders to track the growth of their horses in order to enhance management practices.

The Fellow of the Equine Science Society Award was received by William Schurg, MS, PhD, joint-appointment in the department of animal science and the department of veterinary sciences and microbiology at the University of Arizona. The Fellow Award recognizes distinguished service to the horse industry and to the ESS over a long period of time. Starting with a single horse in 1978, Schurg expanded the horse program at the University of Arizona to one that provides instruction to over 300 undergraduate students each year. As the primary faculty director, he has generated more than $1.2 million in operations and has obtained over $750,000 in donations of horses and equipment. He has also given over 500 clinics during his career.

About the Author

Marcella M. Reca Zipp, MS

Marcella Reca Zipp, M.S., is a former staff writer for The Horse. She is completing her doctorate in Environmental Education and researching adolescent relationships with horses and nature. She lives with her family, senior horse, and flock of chickens on an island in the Chain O'Lakes.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More