Kentucky VS Embargo Update

From the Kentucky Department of Agriculture:

Since Texas has been been removed from the list of vesicular stomatitis-affected states, Kentucky's Administrative Regulation 302 KAR 20:115E now prohibits the entry of all livestock, wild and exotic animals into Kentucky from Colorado and New Mexico:

Also please note that with VS having been confirmed in species other than equine, entry requirements for animals entering Kentucky from states which have a common border with a VS-affected state were earlier revised. In addition to entry requirements found in our Administrative Regulation 302KAR20:040, and the restrictions found in 302KAR20:115E the following health requirements are required to be met prior to the animal's entry.

Bordering States
All livestock (including horses) and wild and exotic animals originating from a state which has a common
border with a VS Embargoed State are required to meet the following conditions prior to entering

Be examined during the five (5) day period prior to the animal's arrival in Kentucky with a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection completed by the examining veterinarian. The certificate shall have the following statement included: "Animals represented on this certificate of veterinary inspection have not originated from a premise or area under quarantine for vesicular stomatitis or a premise on which vesicular stomatitis has been diagnosed in the past thirty (30) days or from
the area of Texas restricted from entry into Kentucky, as designated this date. I have examined the animals and have found no signs of vesicular stomatitis."

Equids entering Kentucky from a state which has a common border with affected states shall be accompanied upon their entry into Kentucky with a negative test for VSV. The sampling shall be conducted during the ten (10) day period prior to the animal's entry into Kentucky. States which are sending equine into Kentucky that are required to be accompanied with a negative vesicular stomatitis test are Arizona, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Information regarding Kentucky's embargos can be found at

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More