AHSA Announces Winners Of Seventh Annual Media Awards

The AHSA has announced the winners of the seventh annual AHSA Media Awards. The 1999 honorees represent a full spectrum of media outlets, including print and broadcast journalism, and all of the winners share a common talent: producing outstanding work which promotes the understanding and appreciation of equestrian sports in the United States through media excellence.

Established in 1993, the AHSA Media Awards formally salute journalists and media outlets that promote interest in equestrian sports. Many noteworthy entries were considered this year, ranging from written and photographic profiles of riders, horses, and equestrian events to nationally broadcast ESPN coverage of the National Horse Show in Madison Square Garden. The winners of the 1999 AHSA Media Awards are:

Electronic Media

  • Winner: The Equine Trade Journal Web site

Equestrian Print Media—Publication

  • Winner: Dressage Today

Equestrian Print Media—Single Article

  • Winner: Sue M.Copeland, Horse & Rider, October 1999, "Gunning for Gold"


  • Winner: Charles Mann, "On the Slide" (as seen in The Horse: Your Guide To Equine Health Care)

The Annual Meeting will run January 12 - 16 at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, NV.

The American Horse Shows Association, as the National Equestrian Federation of the U.S., is the regulatory body for the Olympic and World Championship sports of combined driving, dressage, endurance, eventing, show jumping, and vaulting, as well as 19 other breeds and disciplines of equestrian competition. As the country,s largest multi-breed organization, the AHSA has over 70,000 members and recognizes more than 2,600 competitions nationwide each year. It governs all aspects of competition, including educating and licensing all judges, stewards, and technical delegates who officiate at these shows.

About the Author

Stephanie L. Church, Editor-in-Chief

Stephanie L. Church, Editor-in-Chief, received a B.A. in Journalism and Equestrian Studies from Averett College in Danville, Virginia. A Pony Club and 4-H graduate, her background is in eventing, and she is schooling her recently retired Thoroughbred racehorse, Happy, toward a career in that discipline. She also enjoys traveling, photography, cycling, and cooking in her free time.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More

Free Newsletters

Sign up for the latest in:

From our partners