AAEP Accepting Nominations For Welfare Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the Lavin Cup, the equine welfare award presented by the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP). The Lavin Cup recognizes a non-veterinary organization or individual that has demonstrated exceptional compassion or developed and enforced rules and guidelines for the welfare of horses.

Nominations will be accepted from AAEP-member veterinarians, constituent rganizations and members of the equine community. The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2001.

Past winners of the Lavin Cup are trainer Tom Dorrance, the Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation, Inc., the American Quarter Horse Association, and the California Horse Racing Board. The 2001 award will be presented at the AAEP’s 47 th Annual Convention in San Diego, November 25 – 28.

The Lavin Cup is named for A. Gary Lavin, VMD, a past president of the AAEP and active supporter of equine welfare issues.

To receive a nomination application, contact Sally Baker, AAEP public relations director, at 859/233-0147.

The American Association of Equine Practitioners, headquartered in Lexington, Kentucky, was founded in 1954 as a non-profit organization dedicated to the health and welfare of the horse. Currently, AAEP reaches more than 5 million horse owners through its 6,500 members worldwide and is actively involved in ethics issues, practice management, research and continuing education in the equine veterinary profession and horse industry.

Visit AAEP's web site at http://www.aaep.org, or go to their new client education web site, http://www.myhorsematters.com.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More

Free Newsletters

Sign up for the latest in:

From our partners