Nominations are being accepted for the Lavin Cup, the equine welfare award presented by the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP). The Lavin Cup recognizes a non-veterinary organization or individual that has demonstrated exceptional compassion or developed and enforced rules and guidelines for the welfare of horses. Nominations will be accepted from AAEP-member veterinarians, constituent organizations, and members of the equine community. The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2001.

Past winners of the Lavin Cup are trainer Tom Dorrance, the Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation, the American Quarter Horse Association, and the California Horse Racing Board. The 2001 award will be presented at the AAEP's 47th Annual Convention Nov. 25-28 in San Diego.

The Lavin Cup is named for A. Gary Lavin, VMD, a past president of the AAEP and an active supporter of equine welfare issues. To receive a nomination application, contact Sally Baker, AAEP public relations director, at 859/233-0147.

About the Author

American Association of Equine Practitioners

AAEP Mission: To improve the health and welfare of the horse, to further the professional development of its members, and to provide resources and leadership for the benefit of the equine industry. More information:

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More

Free Newsletters

Sign up for the latest in:

From our partners