2017 BEVA Award Winners Announced

Awards were presented to some of the brightest and the best in equine veterinary science, health and welfare at British Equine Veterinary Association (BEVA) Congress on Sept. 14, in Liverpool, U.K.

The awards were established by BEVA, in conjunction with various sponsors, to reflect the association’s recognition of and support for significant accomplishments by equine veterinarians and others involved in horse health and welfare.

The BEVA Blue Cross Equine Welfare Award was presented to Graham Duncanson, BVSc MSc (VetGP) DProf FRCVS. a vet and equine welfare advocate. Formerly a government veterinary officer in Kenya, Duncanson went on to work in general practice at Westover Veterinary Centre, in Norfolk and is one of a small number of practitioners to be awarded a Fellowship of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. He is a trustee of the Animal Welfare Fund and last year cycled more than 8,000 kilometers (nearly 5,000 miles) from Norfolk to Cape Town, working with equine charities en route, to raise money for the Animal Welfare Foundation.

David Rendle, BVSc MVM CertEM(IntMed) Dipl. ECEIM, won the BEVA Richard Hartley Clinical Award for the paper “Does oral prednisolone treatment increase the incidence of acute laminitis?” The article was published online in February 2016 and then January 2017, Volume 49, Issue 1, of the Equine Veterinary Journal (EVJ). 

The award is given in memory of Richard Hartley, a founder BEVA member and president from 1974 to 1975. It is awarded for evidence-based papers with direct clinical application and the prize is intended to support travel of the senior author and/or co-authors.

The BEVA Trust Peter Rossdale EVJ Open Award was presented to Cajsa Isgren, BVetMed, MRCVS, for the research study paper “Risk factors for surgical site infection following laparotomy: Effect of season and perioperative variables and reporting bacterial isolates in 287 horses.” It was first published online in February 2016 and then January 2017, Volume 49, of EVJ

This award is given for the paper that best achieves the EVJ’s mission to publish articles which influence and improve clinical practice and/or add significantly to the scientific knowledge that underpins and supports veterinary medicine in relation to the horse. The award is made by the BEVA Trust, in recognition of contributions from Peter Rossdale, OBE, MA, PhD, Dr(h.c.) (Berne), Dr(h.c.) (Edinburgh), DESM, FACVSc, FRCVS, to BEVA and EVJ.

The Voorjaarsdagen and BEVA Awards were introduced in 2005 to mark the close relationship between the two Associations. The award is selected and presented biannually, once at the Voorjaarsdagen Congress and once at BEVA Congress, and is open to all those presenting a Clinical Research paper.

This year’s BEVA Award winner is Lotte Kooijman, MSc, for her paper “Seroprevalence and risk factors for infection with equine coronavirus in healthy horses in the USA.” Her presentation won the award at the Voorjaarsdagen Congress in April 2017, and she presented it again during the Clinical Research Sessions at BEVA Congress.

The reciprocal Voorjaarsdagen Award winner will be selected from those presenting Clinical Research papers at this year’s BEVA Congress. Their prize will be free registration to Voorjaarsdagen Congress 2018 where they will have the opportunity to present their paper again.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More