List of States Introducing Slaughter Legislation Grows

Twelve state legislatures are now considering measures to express their support of or actively encourage the reestablishment of U.S. horse processing plants.

Resolutions indicating opposition to HR 503, the federal Conyers-Burton Prevention of Equine Cruelty Act, which would eliminate horse slaughter nationwide and prohibit the export of horses to slaughter are either under consideration or have already passed in:

  • Arizona (SCM 1001)
  • Kansas (HCR 5004)
  • Minnesota (SF 133)
  • North Dakota (HB 1496)
  • South Dakota (SCR 2)
  • Utah (HJR 7)
  • Wyoming (HJR 8)

Bills amending state laws to promote private investor plant development are pending in:

  • Arkansas (HCR 1004)
  • Illinois (HB 0583)
  • Missouri (House, HCR 19; Senate, SCR 8)
  • Montana (HB 418)
  • Tennessee (HB 1361)

The state measures were prompted by a resolution submitted into the National Conference of State Legislatures' (NCSL) Agriculture and Energy Committee in December 2008 by Wyoming State Rep. Sue Wallis and then South Dakota State Rep. Dave Sigdestad.

The NCSL is a bipartisan organization that advocates for state governments' interests before Congress and other federal agencies. The resolution encourages legislators in rural states to promote horse processing on the basis of generating jobs and addressing the issue of unwanted horses.

"We want to take the emotion out of the slaughter issue and look at it economically," Sigdestad said. "These bills are the only way we have to get our voices heard in Washington."

Keep an eye on for updates as this situation develops.

Click here to contact your Senator. Click here to contact your Representative.

About the Author

Pat Raia

Pat Raia is a veteran journalist who enjoys covering equine welfare, industry, and news. In her spare time, she enjoys riding her Tennessee Walking Horse, Sonny.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More