Scholarships Aid 32 Students Committed to Equine Medicine

Thirty-two veterinary students following a career path in equine medicine have received financial support through The Winner's Circle Scholarship Program. The program, sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners Foundation, Platinum Performance and The Race for Education, honors fourth-year students for involvement at their veterinary schools and dedication to careers in equine practice.

The Winner's Circle scholarships are intended to help offset the cost of veterinary school. Students are nominated from each of the AAEP's 36 student chapters in North America and receive scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, depending on the needs of the individual student.

"The rising cost of veterinary school continues to present challenges to talented students who endeavor to enter the equine veterinary profession," said Wayne McIlwraith, BVSc, Ph.D., chairman of the AAEP Foundation Advisory Committee. "The Winner's Circle Scholarship program provides financial relief for proven student leaders who have pledged their careers to advancing the health of horses."

The program encourages students' long-term loyalty to the AAEP, the AAEP Foundation, The Race for Education and the Thoroughbred industry. This year, more than $130,000 in scholarship funds was distributed to students through the Winner's Circle program. Since its establishment in 2008, the program has provided more than $400,000 in financial support of equine veterinary students.

Following are the 2010 recipients:

Ashley Homm, Auburn University Nathan Canady, Colorado State University Jennifer Nightingale, Cornell University Kirsty Husby, Iowa State University Lindsey Horner, Kansas State University Amy Norvall, Louisiana State University Charlotte Lucas, Michigan State University Nadine Kirk, Mississippi State University Chelsey Miller, North Carolina State University Caitlin Daly, The Ohio State University James Rogers, Oklahoma State University Kyle Goldie, University of Guelph Ragan Garrett, Oregon State University Nicole Dalesandro, Purdue University Tiffany Tobias, Ross University Natalie Landen, St. George's University Lynn Green-Ivey, Texas A&M University Barbara Harrison, Tufts University Kristen Ostrosky, Tuskegee University Alison Hoffman, University of California-Davis Ariel Womble, University of Florida Rachel Witt, University of Illinois Crystal Sampson, University of Missouri Dionne Benson, University of Minnesota Noemi Menard-Levigne, University of Montreal Ashley Yanchik, University of Pennsylvania Sarah Mouri, University of Prince Edward Island Dane Tatarniuk, University of Saskatchewan Kate LeVasseur, University of Wisconsin Brian Kopec, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine Molly Bellefeuille, Washington State University Tiffany Trotter, Western University of Health Services.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More