FEI Announces Officials for 2014 World Equestrian Games

FEI Announces Officials for 2014 World Equestrian Games

Photo: Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI)

The Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) has appointed the ground juries, technical delegates, chief stewards, course designers, appeal committee, and medical officer for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2014 in Normandy, France, where from Aug. 23 to Sept. 7, athletes from 60 nations will compete for medals in the FEI’s seven disciplines.

“We are now 207 days from the opening ceremony of the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2014, the world’s biggest equestrian event,” said Ingmar de Vos, FEI secretary general. “We are extremely grateful to the international officials who will be travelling from around the world to Normandy, where they will be working closely with the organising committee, the FEI, and our athletes, upholding the key values and principles of these games including fair play and providing the perfect stage for this seventh edition of the games.”

The following individuals have been appointed FEI Officials for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2014:

Ground jury president Kim Morrison (CAN) will be joined by ground jury members David Distler (USA), René Billardon (FRA), Joao Moura (POR), and Bruno Laubscher (SUI). Technical delegate Jon Doney (GBR), course designer Frédéric Cottier (FRA), and chief steward Frances Triulzi (ITA) will complete the lineup.

President Isabelle Judet (FRA), Elizabeth McMullen (CAN), Susan Hoevenaars (AUS), Stephen Clarke (GBR), Liselotte Fore (USA), Dietrich Plewa (GER), Francis Verbeek (NED), and reserve member Susanne Baarup (DEN) will make up the ground jury. The judges supervisory panel will include Dieter Schüle (GER), Ghislain Fouarge (NED), and David Hunt (GBR). Maribel Alonso (MEX) will be technical delegate and Jacques van Daele (BEL) will be chief steward.

Para-Equestrian Dressage
President of the ground jury Anne Prain (FRA) will be supported by seven ground jury members: Hanneke Gerritsen (NED), Freddy Leyman (BEL), Kjell Myhre (NOR), Marco Orsini (GER), Alison King (HKG), Eva Bachinger (AUT), Sarah Leitch (GBR), and reserve member Carlos Lopes (POR). Chief classifier Sharyn Gregory (AUS) will work with classifier Chris Meaden (GBR), with Gabriella Walter (BRA) appointed as reserve classifier. Marc Urban (BEL) has been appointed as technical delegate and will be supported by assistant technical delegate Juliet Whatley (GBR). Chris Porterfield (GBR) will serve as chief steward.

President of the ground jury Gillian Rolton (AUS) will be joined by ground jury members Alain James (FRA) and Ernst Topp (GER). Alec Lochore (GBR) has been appointed as technical delegate, and Ataide Pereira (BRA) was appointed assistant technical delegate. Course designer Pierre Michelet (FRA) and chief steward Jürgen Petershagen (GER) will complete the officials for eventing.

Ground jury president Klaus Christ (GER) will be joined by members Andrew Counsell (GBR), Anne-Marie Turbe (FRA), Joaquin Medina (ESP), Pia Skar (DEN), and reserve member Gerrit Kraai (NED). The technical delegate will be Richard Papens (BEL), the course designer will be Richard Nicoll (USA), and the chief steward will be Jan Devaere (BEL).

Ground jury president Denis Letartre (FRA) will be joined by ground jury members Mathilde Beaur (FRA), Elizabeth Huyghe (CHI), Ruth Carlson (CAN), Haider Zubi (JOR), John Robertson (GBR) and Ahmed Ali Al Hammadi (UAE); technical delegate Elisabeth van Schelle (BRA); course designer Jean Louis-Leclerc (FRA); and chief steward Derek Liebenberg (RSA).

The five-strong ground jury includes president Pierre Ouellet (ITA), Ricky le May (SWE), Sylvia Katschker (AUT), Rick Weaver (USA), and Maik Bartmann (GER). They will be joined by technical delegate Raymond Grether (NED), equipment judge Jeff Delaet (BEL), and chief steward Nick Cornellisen (BEL).

The eight-strong ground jury will include president Véronique Girard (FRA), Members Helma Schwarzmann (GER), Susan Detol (USA), Pavla Krauspe (SVK), Anita Flamand-Prochaska (AUT), Karolina Wickholm (FIN), Elzbieta Dolinska (POL), and Anna Kull (SUI). They will be joined by technical delegate Erich Breiter (AUT) and chief steward Sintje Klink (GER).

Appeal Committee
The appeal committee will include president Ken Lalo (ISR) and eight members as follows: Patrick Boelens (BEL, jumping), Bernard Maurel (FRA, dressage), Ulf Wilken (SWE, para-equestrian dressage), Wayne Quarles (USA, eventing), Mark Wentein (BEL, driving), Jean-Pierre Allegret (FRA, endurance), François Zürcher (SUI, reining), and Jean-Michel Pinel (FRA, vaulting).

Medical Officer
Dr. Peter Whitehead (GBR), who was venue medical manager at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic games and is chair of the FEI medical committee, has been appointed medical officer for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2014.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More