KHC Elects New Directors, Honors Retiring Directors

The Kentucky Horse Council (KHC) Board of Directors welcomed returning and new board members Nov. 10 following elections at the annual membership meeting, as well as honoring retiring board members.

This year, four retiring directors were honored for their outstanding dedication and volunteer service:

  • Lisa Jackson served as a board member from 2005 to 2013. Throughout the years, Jackson has been dedicated in her contributions to the KHC. She has served on many committees, including the membership committee and the communications and marketing committee. She has also contributed countless hours volunteering at KHC events. Jackson is currently the director of marketing and public relations for the Kentucky Horse Park, in Lexington.
  • Kristin Werner Leshney has served on the KHC board from 2006 to 2013. During her time serving, she has been dedicated to the health and welfare committee, and has also served on the outreach and youth committees. In addition to serving on committees, Werner Leshney has shown an avid interest in helping the horse council to progress, and in reaching out to encourage youth to become involved in the equine industry. Werner Leshney is currently the Legal Associate for The Jockey Club.
  • Margie Loeser is one of the longest running KHC board members, serving from 2003 to 2013. Loeser has contributed significantly over the last ten years, by volunteering on committees such as the communications and marketing committee, as well as serving at events. Loeser is a practicing attorney based out of Louisville, Ky.
  • Harold Rainwater served as the 2013 Educational Representative on the board. Rainwater is the director of the equine program at Asbury University in Wilmore, Ky. As the educational representative, Rainwater contributed with his knowledge of the academic world.

During the membership meeting, attendees from around the commonwealth voted to approve changes to the KHC by-laws and elect board members. Annually one third of the 18 member board of directors terms expire, and this year six directors were elected for terms beginning in 2014:

  • Elizabeth Caldwell manages her family's farm, Cane Run Farm, in Georgetown, Ky. Over the past 13 years, she has helped breed, raise, and sell Standardbred race horses. Following in her mother's and grandmother's footsteps, she began competing in the American Saddlebred discipline at age 10 and she still enjoys competing. Caldwell served as the 2013 Horse Show Chair for the Lexington Junior League Charity Horse Show, the first leg of the Triple Crown for American Saddlebreds. She is a member of Kentucky Thoroughbred Farm Managers' Club and also serves on the board of the Harness Racing Museum and Hall of Fame and the Standardbred Stable of Memories, which is devoted to the preservation of the Round Barn at The Red Mile, in Lexington, Ky.
  • Becky Cox has been a recreational trail rider for almost 30 years. Cox is a member of Scott County Women's Club, Riders Up, Wheels a Rollin riding and driving club, and Back Country Horsemen of Eagle Creek, for which she is currently holding the Secretary/Treasurer position. Cox is actively involved with a proposal to establish a multi-use, non-motorized trail from Sadieville to Corinth, Ky. She supports the continuation of the multi-use trail system at the reservoir property in Scott County. Cox also supports the proposal to establish a network of trails across the state and is looking forward to helping the project in any way she can.
  • Darryl Leifheit has served on the KHC board for three years, and has been re-elected for a second three year term. Leifheit has trained and shown Saddlebred horses since the 1970s. Currently he drives a Saddlebred gelding, a former champion five gaited amateur show horse, in combined driving. This horse was the 2009 American Saddlebred Horse Association Fédération Equestre Internationale Combined Driving Champion and he was reserve champion combined driving horse in 2008. Recently he was the Intermediate Single Horse winner at the international Iron Horse CDE in Illinois and the Indiana CDE at Hoosier Horse Park.
  • Tandy Patrick is a lifelong exhibitor, owner, and breeder of American Saddlebred horses. Patrick currently serves as President of the American Saddlebred Horse Association, where she has been particularly involved with marketing and promotional efforts. Patrick previously served as the Saddlebred representative on the Kentucky State Fair Board, and she is a member of the United Professional Horsemen's Association, where she serves as volunteer legal counsel and as a member of the finance committee. Patrick is also a member of the Kentucky Saddlebred Owners and Breeders Association and the United States Equestrian Federation.
  • C.A. Shea Porr, PAS, PhD, has been nominated to serve as the 2014 Educational Representative. As a faculty member in Murray State University's Animal/Equine Science division, Porr is responsible for teaching courses and advising undergraduate and Master's students, developing the equine science program, and assisting with the administration of the Equine Instructional Facility. In addition to her other duties, Porr supports the horse industry through presentations at various professional and industry meetings and events as well as through extension publications and participates in on-farm consultations designed to assist and educate horse owners on management techniques using the latest research findings.
  • Renée Roberts has been a horse owner of Rocky Mountains and Tennessee Walkers for 25 years, with a focus on trail riding. Currently, Roberts is working on expanding and maintaining trails in Scott County, Ky., on the reservoir property about 1200 acres. She formed a group called Friends of the Reservoir, whose main goal is to keep this area open to horses. In the past, Renee has volunteered with the Scott County Tourism Commission, was chairman of the Festival of the Horse Grand Parade in Georgetown, and was a certified tourism ambassador during the 2010 World Equestrian Games.

In a board meeting immediately after the annual membership meeting, KHC directors elected officers. KHC President Anna Zinkhon, has one more year left on her term. The other three positions—vice president, treasurer, and secretary—were open for election. All three previous officers were elected back to their positions for another term: Chad Mendell as vice president, Ted Kuster as treasurer, and Erin Woodall as secretary.

"We sincerely thank our retiring Board of Directors for their significant years of service to the Kentucky Horse Council and to the equine industry," said Zinkhon. "We also welcome our new and returning Board of Directors, and look forward to working with them in the upcoming years."

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More