The 57th Annual Convention of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP), held Nov. 18-22 in San Antonio, Texas, attracted nearly 6,400 veterinary professionals, guests, and exhibitors, ranking the meeting among the top five conventions by attendance sponsored by the association. The AAEP Convention continues as the world's largest education event for equine veterinarians.

"This was one of the AAEP's best-ever conventions for so many reasons," said David Foley, AAEP executive director. "Attendance was very strong. Dr. John Mitchell (DVM) and the Educational Programs Committee put together yet another outstanding scientific program and the city of San Antonio rolled out the red carpet. I'm very appreciative of the outstanding work of both our staff and volunteers to make this event happen and run so smoothly."

Highlights from the 2011 convention include:

  • Installation of new officers. John S. Mitchell, DVM, of Boca Raton, Fla., was installed as the 58th president. Other 2012 officers are Ann E. Dwyer, DVM, Scottsville, N.Y., president elect; Jeff A. Blea, DVM, Sierra Madre, Calif., vice president; James Morehead, DVM, Lexington, Ky., treasurer; and William Moyer, DVM, College Station, Texas, immediate past president.
  • Installation of new board members. New members of the board of directors are: District I - Carolyn M. Weinberg, DVM, Newtown, Conn; District II - Steven S. Trostle, DVM, Earlysville, Va.; District III - Margo L. Macpherson, DVM, Gainesville, Fla.; District IX - Elizabeth S. Metcalf, DVM, Sherwood, Ore., and Director at Large - Karen A. Nyrop, DVM, Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
  • Annual awards presented. The association honored several outstanding individuals during the Nov. 21 President's Luncheon:
  • George Stubbs Award: Sue McDonnell, PhD
  • Distinguished Educator Award: Jill Beech, VMD
  • Distinguished Life Member: Douglas G. Corey, DVM
  • President's Award: David D. Frisbie, DVM, and Mr. David Foley
  • Auctions raise funds for AAEP Foundation: The annual live and silent auctions held during the Foundation Celebration raised more than $80,000 to help fund student scholarships, benevolence work and equine research.
  • Good Works for Horses Honorees Named: Mary Beth Hamorski, VMD, and Christina Wilson, DVM, of Califon Animal Hospital in Lebanon, N.J., were presented with the Good Works for Horses Veterinarian of the Year Award during the Foundation Celebration. A $1,000 donation will be made in the names of Hamorski and Wilson to Mylestone Equine Rescue, the equine organization which the two veterinarians support. In addition, Pfizer Animal Health donated $1,000 in vaccines for use at the rescue.

The AAEP's 58th Annual Convention will take place Dec. 1 - 5, 2012, in Anaheim, Calif. More information is available at

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from Learn More