2014 Equine Industry Vision Award Finalists Announced

Zoetis and American Horse Publications (AHP) are proud to announce that a winner has been selected to receive the 2014 Equine Industry Vision Award. Sponsored by Zoetis, the award is intended to recognize innovation, leadership, and service. All of this year’s nominees were outstanding examples of these qualities.

The six members of the Equine Industry Vision Award Committee reviewed the nominations and narrowed the list of 10 nominees to four candidates. The committee selected the following finalists:

  • Patti Colbert, Patti Colbert Enterprises;
  • Molly Sweeney, vice president of Horses and Humans Research Foundation;
  • Lyndsey White, Co-founder of Riders4Helmets; and
  • the Retired Racehorse Training Project.

The remaining six nominees included:

  • Beverly Gordon, DVM, founder of The Horse in Motion, LLC, and developer of Equi-Tape;
  • International Horse Show Association;
  • Monty Roberts, founder and director of Monty and Pat Roberts, Inc., and principal of Join-Up International, Inc.;
  • Jochen Schleese, owner and founder of Schleese Saddlery Service and Saddlefit 4 Life;
  • Andreas Stano, creator of Global Dressage Forum North America and executive director of DressageClinic.com/Select Media, Inc.; and
  • Brad Turley, founder of So8ths/Nikon Three-Day Event.

The AHP Board of Directors plus a Zoetis representative voted for the winner. Finalists were judged on their performance in relation to the achievement(s) cited and their demonstration of the following attributes and abilities:

  1. The vision and innovation of a true pioneer;
  2. Leadership, commitment, dedication, and willingness to serve;
  3. Original and effective ideas and/or products, services, or programs; and
  4. High moral, ethical, and professional standards.

The winner has been notified to allow for travel arrangements. However, the official announcement of the winner and the presentation of the award will be made at the Equine Industry Vision Award Breakfast on June 20 during the AHP Gallop n’ Grits Seminar in Charleston, S.C. The recipient will be presented with the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine.

The Equine Industry Vision Award is the first major award to showcase innovation across the equine industry. The award is intended not only to serve as a unique recognition of ingenuity and service, but also to benefit the industry by inspiring these qualities in others. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding leadership, creativity and meritorious contributions in the equine industry.

Previous recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are Alexander Mackay-Smith in 2002, Don Burt in 2003, the American Quarter Horse Association in 2004, John Ryan Gaines in 2005, Stanley Bergstein in 2006, David O'Connor in 2007, Sally Swift in 2008, Charlotte Brailey Kneeland in 2009, John Nicholson in 2010, Robert E. Cacchione in 2011, Equine Land Conservation Resource in 2012, and Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship (PATH) in 2013.

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with FREE weekly newsletters from TheHorse.com. Learn More